My first run…..

This is the most awesome story I have to date…. 

So it was my first morning of getting up early to walk/jog and I was NOT looking forward to it!    When the alarm went off at 5.30am I thought it was someone’s idea of a cruel joke!  I think I hit snooze about 10 times until I realised that the alarm was not going to give in. 

I conceded defeat and got up – now, I was already dressed in all my workout gear.  That’s right!  Trackies, shirt, jumper, bra, socks were worn all night in bed!  I was ready!  All I had to do was put on my shoes, jacket, grab the heartrate monitor and GO!!!!

So I might have to give you some background about where I live – a very old wooden/weatherboard farmhouse on the top of a hill surrounded by meadows and a small forest.    The 600m driveway I use to exercise on goes down into a valley where a winter creek flows.  Sounds beautiful…. it is…. EXCEPT ON THE COLDEST MORNING OF THE YEAR!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

That’s right!  I decided to start my morning exercise regime on THE COLDEST MORNING OF THE YEAR!!!!  There was ice on the windscreens of the cars, the grass couldn’t even move in the strong winds (that were roaring up the hill to come up through our “character” floorboards!)

The question is… did all of this stop me?

No….

It didn’t.

I took a blanket, wrapped it around me, and used it for 2 laps until I felt a little warmer!!!!!

I felt like an ice-block as I walked down that driveway!  Mist coming from my mouth, nose and maybe even ears!!!!   Tears pouring out of my eyes from the wind!!!  But there was no way known this was gong to stop me…. you see I had made a deal with myself, my family, my friends and my trainer (Michelle Bridges 12wbt) that I would do this.  So there were no excuses… just action!

When I got to the bottom of the driveway, after all of my cussing, cursing and disbelief as to why I would be doing this……  I turned around….

…and gasped!

I had never ever seen our farmhouse from this angle, with the sun rising to the side, the vinyards glistening in the sun light and the dew reflecting amazing colours on the spider webs made on the old farming fences.  I had never heard the beautiful sounds of the magpies singing good morning to the sun.  I had never heard the sound of a kookaburra’s laugh break through the  morning silence  like it was awakening the world….  I had never seen the way the mist rises off of the creek line as the sun slowly warms the morning air…  I felt as though I had never truly lived until this moment.

I was truly amazed….  It was breathtaking….  I felt the most powerful feelings of love.  I felt as though I was connected to this universe in a way that I never had before. 

I felt humble and grateful. 

I felt like me….  that’s when I realised, I was on the right path to finding me… and my time.

xoxoxo

About Belle

It's my time to shine....
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

